Proposed Backup Script Project

Nov 8, 2012 at 11:39 PM

I have dynamic T-SQL backup script that I've been working on ... the intent it to have a nifty way for a DBA to walk into situation where a DB backup is needed and simply connect to the SQL instance pass in a couple of parameters such as whether he want to print the statement, do a restore, do a backup, etc. and then click submit.  The script will determine where to backup and restore from, the logical names, whether there are several filegroups to deal with, etc.

Anybody want to help me work on this?

Nov 9, 2012 at 12:01 AM

As an accidental DBA I found http://ola.hallengren.com/ .  Those scripts do backup, index maintenance and more.

Nov 9, 2012 at 12:02 AM

As an accidental DBA I found http://ola.hallengren.com/ .  Those scripts do backup, index maintenance and more.

Nov 9, 2012 at 1:34 AM

Well that takes care of that.  The "MaintenanceSolution" from that site closely resembles the script I was writing.  It's much better that what I have thus far.  So ... what next.  What do we work so we to can have a "project" to publish as discussed at our inaugural meeting.

Coordinator
Nov 9, 2012 at 12:21 PM

I would say go for it, the solution by Ola Hallengren is good but creating your own might allow you and anyone who helps you to learn something and its yours so you can tweak it to fit what you want.  I'm not suggesting we re work things that already exists but if your idea is different go for it I think there is room for more than one dynamic backup script.

Nov 9, 2012 at 12:50 PM
The TSQL script I have is not yet ready for prime time. It does work but the user would have to be a DBA to use it in its current state. I want the completed product to be such that a novice can use. How do we use this project site, as a team, to work together to further develop/improve shared code. From what It appears that code placed on this site has to be considered a nearly finished product, not raw development scripts.